Persona

BergmanFig1

 

Of what interest can my life be to you?
in your armoury as a woman and artist.
Out here, far away in our loneliness.
I don’t want to part as enemies.
I’m skating on thin ice.

Then we slept together.
I don’t know how to describe it.
It generates security.
All that is decided.
It’s inside of me.

Forgive me, my darling.
You’ve taught me that we must see each other
looking frozen in the sunshine
all our thwarted dreams
The feeling of vertigo

We were walking in the woods
it was never really real.
Have I harmed you in some way?
I live from your tenderness.
Have I hurt you without knowing?

It’s a photograph of your son.
His moist and pleading eyes.
I was very much in love, that’s for sure.
I love you, as much as I did before.
I went to the beach alone.

But you lack motherliness.
frightened of your body swelling up.
You’re cold and indifferent.
I was so disappointed.
Anaesthetise me… throw me away!

I don’t know what to do with my tenderness.
My pain was real, that’s for sure.
Long periods of pain
Life seeps in everything.
to my summer place by the sea.

I’ve learned so much from you
No one’s ever bothered to listen to me.
When you sleep your face is slack.
I felt it like I’d never felt it before
I remember it all like a long torment.

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

